Assault and aggravated assault, sometimes called felony assault, are often paired together and sometimes mistaken for one another. However, they are two separate and distinct crimes under Arizona state law.
Assault is an all-encompassing term used to describe simple assault, which is a lesser crime than aggravated assault.
Aggravated assault involves a more serious attack and a potentially “aggravating factor” that places it into the more severe category of crimes and punishments.
Aggravating factors may include any of the following and more:
Simple assault has no aggravating factor(s). There are three classes of simple assault, all of which are misdemeanors.
These are the following:
A class one misdemeanor assault is punishable by up to $2,500 in fines, six months in jail, and thirty-six months of probation, along with advisable court sanctions.
A class two misdemeanor assault carries up to $750 in fines, four months in jail, and/or twenty-four months of probation.
A class three misdemeanor assault has a maximum fine of $500, up to thirty days in jail, and/or twelve months of probation.
Aggravated assault is more deadly than a misdemeanor or simple assault. The penalties for aggravated assault also depend on its class designation.
The range of punishment for aggravated assault is as follows:
In addition to incarceration, aggravated assault carries a potential of fines up to $150,000, mandatory probation, community service, and restitution.
If you would like to know more about how a judge determines sentencing in a simple assault or an aggravated assault or how the facts of your case apply to Arizona’s laws on assault, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Phoenix.
At Younglove Law Firm, our knowledgeable legal team will provide you with the competent and practical legal advice you need.
We are committed to working with you to ensure you understand all aspects of your criminal case and any consequences related to your available legal options.